Error message

Deprecated function: Array and string offset access syntax with curly braces is deprecated in include_once() (line 20 of /home/sobom/public_html/includes/file.phar.inc).

Shipboard Data & Reports

Cruise and Shipboard

Authors using shipboard data assembled for SOCCOM validation should acknowledge that "Data were assembled or collected and made available by the Southern Ocean Carbon and Climate Observations and Modeling (SOCCOM) Project funded by National Science Foundation, Division of Polar Programs (NSF PLR -1425989), supplemented by NASA (NNX14AP49G).” For use of specific datasets within the shipboard data sets, authors are encouraged to examine the metadata that accompanies each data set and acknowledge the data originator or agency.

Reference Tables 

Float-Shipboard Data Matchup Table and Argo Ifremer profile plots (“WMO ID”)
Shipboard Validation Data Sets Table -  shipboard data availability and links


Validation Data​

SOCCOM Datasets

SOCCOM validation datasets - CCHDO
SOCCOM HPLC and POC validation datasets - NASA SeaBass

External Datasets

Global Shipboard Data Set: GLODAPv2​
WOCE/ARGO Global Hydrographic Climatology (WAGHC)


Cruise Information

Year 9 Cruises (2022 - 2023)

SOLOMON  - Hobart to Lyttelton (2023)
IBRV Araon (Korea)

GEOTRACES - Papeete to Punta Arenas (2022)
R/V Roger Revelle (US)

NBP 22-11 - Punta Arenas to Lyttelton (2022) 
RVIB Nathaniel Palmer (US)

Kaharoa 2022 - Wellington to Wellington (2022)
RV Kaharoa (New Zealand)


Year 8 Cruises (2021 - 2022)

Marion Island - Cape Town to Cape Town (2022)
SA Agulhas II (South Africa)

GO-SHIP A13.5  - Praia to Recife (2022) - CANCELLED

GO-SHIP A10.5 - Punta Arenas to Cape Town (2022)
R/V Sarmiento de Gamboa (Spain)

PS 129 - HAFOS - Cape Town to Cape Town (2022)
R/V Polarstern (Germany)

Cape Darnley - Hobart to Cape Darnley (2022)
Aiviq (Australia)


Year 7 Cruises (2020 - 2021)

COCCO-SAMW21 - San Diego  to Honolulu (2020)
R/V Roger Revelle (US)

USAP INVERT - Port Hueneme to Punta Arenas (2020)
RVIB Nathaniel Palmer (US)


Year 6 Cruises (2019 - 2020)

Year 6 Float Deployment Map

RoSES CUSTARD / OOI - Punta Arenas to Punta Arenas (2019-2020)
RRS Discovery (UK)

I7S GO-SHIP (JAMSTEC) - Port Louis to Singapore (2019-2020)
Mirai (Japan)

Kerguelen Geophysics - Fremantle to Fremantle (2020)
R/V Investigator (Australia)

USAP Thwaites - Punta Arenas to Punta Arenas (2020)
RVIB Nathaniel B. Palmer (US)

CAPSTAN - Fremantle to Hobart (2020)
R/V Investigator (Australia)

A13.5 GO-SHIP - Cape Town - Cape Verde (2020)
R/V Ron Brown (US)


Year 5 Cruises (2018 - 2019)

Year 5 Float Deployment Map

Atlantic Meridional Transect (AMT28) - Immingham to Port Stanley (2018)
RRS James Clark Ross (UK)

CCAMLR KY1804 - Fremantle to Sydney (2018-2019)
Kaiyo Maru (Japan)

A12 PS117 - Cape Town to Punta Arenas (2018-2019)
R/V Polarstern (Germany)

ANDREXII - Port Stanley to Port Stanley (2018-2019)
RRS James Clark Ross (UK)

I6S - Cape Town to Cape Town (2019)
R/V Thomas G. Thompson (US)


Year 4 Cruises (2017 - 2018)

Year 4 Float Deployment Map

SANAP Gough Island - Cape Town to Cape Town (2017)
SA Agulhas II (South Africa)

NCAOR (NCPOR) - Port Louis to Port Louis (2017-2018)
MV S.A. Agulhas (India)

SR3 GO-SHIP - Hobart to Hobart (2018)
R/V Investigator (Australia)

S04P GO-SHIP - Hobart to Punta Arenas (2018)
R/V N.B. Palmer (US)


Year 3 Cruises (2016 - 2017)

Year 3 Float Deployment Map

P18 GO-SHIP- San Diego to Punta Arenas (2016-2017)
R/V Ron Brown (US)

ACE - Cape Town to Hobart (2016)
Akademik Tryoshnikov (Russia)

NBP17-01 - Punta Arenas to McMurdo (2016-2017)
R/V Nathaniel B. Palmer (US)

P17E (17S) GO-SHIP - Punta Arenas to Auckland (2017)

NBP17-04 PIPERS - Lyttelton to Christchurch (2017)
R/V Nathaniel B. Palmer (US)

P6 GO-SHIP - Sydney to Valparaiso (2017)
R/V Nathaniel B. Palmer (US)


Year 2 Cruises (2015 - 2016)

Year 2 Float Deployment Map

OOI SO - Punta Arenas to Punta Arenas (2015)
R/V Nathaniel B. Palmer (US)

SR1B - Stanley to Rothera to Stanley (2015)
RRS James Clark Ross (U.K.)

University of Tasmania Heard (HEOBI) - Fremantle to Hobart (2016)
R/V Investigator (Australia)

Australian Antarctic Division Aurora - Hobart to Hobart (2016)
R/V Aurora Australis(Australia)

GO-SHIP I08S - Fremantle to Fremantle (2016)
R/V Roger Revelle (U.S.)

CSIRO Eddy - Hobart to Hobart (2016)
R/V Investigator (Australia)

GO-SHIP P15S - Hobart to Latoka, Fiji (2016)
R/V Investigator (Australia)


Year 1 Cruises (2014 - 2015)

IN2015-01 SOTS - Hobart to Hobart (2015)
R/V Investigator (Australia)

A12 - Cape Town to Cape Town (2014-2015)
R/V Polarstern (Germany)

P16S - Hobart to Papeete (2014)
R/V Nathaniel B. Palmer (U.S.)